EIGHTH WEEK MONDAY: 1000 WORDS TO TOUCH


Today, I decided to indulge in my very favorite type of writing: “letters”/comments/replies to so many of you in this  writers’ community of bloggers!  I really must start keeping track of all my comment word-lengths, if for no other reason than just to buff my nails and brag to myself while soaking in a well-earned (according to Yours Truly) bubble bath.  However, I did save a FEW words for this little lines:

 

THE CHURCH LADY AND THE FAMOUS FUDGE

MOVED IN NEXT DOOR TO A HENHOUSE

MADE OF GINGERBREAD WITHOUT DRIPS

AND PLANTED A HOBBYLOBBY BLOOMING PINK

BESIDE THE FRONTWALK TO THE FIVE-AND-DIME

JUST AROUND THE CORNER FROM THE PERFECT PIE

AT THE BAKE SALE HELD ON THE MAYOR’S LAWN

OUTLINED IN PINK PINAFORES AND RED SUSPENDERS

JUST BEFORE FINDING A PARKING TICKET ON

LOWLY WORMS CAR STICKING OUT IN THE HOMECOMING

BACK DOWN THE STREET TO WHERE NO MAN’S LAND

JOINS THE DARK LAGOON SUBSIDING UNDER

THE GREAT WHITE WAY.

 

See you tomorrow with an essay with a tail!(per Kana’s Notebook)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss Demure Restraint
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 05:43:16

    Terribly clever of you. I smiled the whole way through.

    • granbee
      Nov 24, 2011 @ 02:26:58

      Miss Demure, thank you SO much. It is not always easy for me to be light-hearted enough to try for “clever” when aggravated by the less-attractive character traits and habits of those remembered and those around me now. Glad I apparently rose above my negativity enough to be “clever.”

  2. Betty
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 06:26:35

    VERY clever!!! 🙂

    • granbee
      Nov 24, 2011 @ 02:29:10

      Betty, thank you so much for the “VERY” before the clever. As you can see in my reply to Miss Demure above, being clever was something I doubted I could achieve in view of my negative reactions to the habits and ingrained customs of remembered and present Southern community folks. I am SO relieved I was apparently able to put some of that in perspective in this post. Maybe I am getting wiser? (enough white hair for that, anyway!)

  3. Warrior Poet Wisdom
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 01:26:20

    Congratulations! You’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!
    http://warriorpoetwisdom.com/2011/11/23/versatile-blogger-award/

    • granbee
      Nov 24, 2011 @ 02:30:34

      Warrier Poet, I have been so glad to discover you this past week. Thanks SO much for the nomination. Hope you will follow my essays through Friday, 11-25-2011, at least.

Recent Tweets

