THE INJURED WOMAN AND THE ANGRY DOG


Because I have recently experienced more old “twinges” from injuries sustained in surviving a car-jacking/kidnapping/murder attempt some years ago,

Because I have recently been reminded of my “dog whispering” skills which I have never understood but always found available when I needed them,

Because I have recently been painfully reminded that not many other people understand neither of the above,

Because I have recently been painfully reminded that people often redirect their anger at their own self-perceived/self-assigned failings onto whoever is near whom they perceive as having greater skills than themselves, especially in the face of danger, I kept coming back to several versions of the following lines when attempting to complete a post for today:

OLD GRANNY TODDLED DOWN HER FRONT STEPS IN FRONT OF HER MORNING STRENGTH

OLD GRANNY SKIPPED AND SLIPPED HER TUNING WAY DOWN HER WOULD-BE DRIVEWAY

YOUNG DOGGIE, LITTLE DOGGIE BOTH DANCING AND JUMPING IN TEST OF MORNING’S LENGTH

YOUNG DOGGIE, LITTLE DOGGIE IN TURN LEADING THE SNIFF INTO COULD-BE BLYTHE-WAY

OLD GRANNY, YOUNG DOGGIE, LITTLE DOGGIE IN THREESOME ROUND THE BEND OF LIGHT

OLD GRANNY, YOUNG DOGGIE, LITTLE DOGGIE IN BANDS OF FULSOME HURL TO LEAVINGS

STRANGE DOGGIE, ANGRY DOGGIE, LARGE BRISTLING DOGGIE SHINING OUT IN MIGHT

STRANGE DOGGIE, ANGRY DOGGIE, LARGE BRISTLING DOGGIE TOOTHING CURL TO HEAVINGS.

OLD GRANNY SKIPPING AND SLIPPING CALM FINGER TO WAVE A DANCE, A SLOW DANCE,

OLD GRANNY CALM FINGERING TENDER CRUMBLIES IN ACROBATICS OF SOOTHE

ANGRY DOGGIE IN SETTLING BRISTLES WEAVING BACK TO SEEK SOFTER GROUND

ANGRY DOGGIE IN SMOOTHING THROAT BUBBLES ROLLING DOWN INTO A SMOOTH

NOW NEIGHBOR, WATCHER, AND ALL, HUFFING BEHIND HIS SAFEHOUSE

NOW NEIGHBOR, WATCHER, AND ALL, STUFFING WORDS LIKE A MOUSE

NOW NEIGHBOR, WATCHER, AND ALL, CUFFING A PHONE LINE TO PRY

NOW GRANNY, WATCHER, AND ALL, CHUFFING COFFEEDROPS IN SLY.

May there always be a jig danced, and seen, on your every pathway!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caddo Veil
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 07:58:05

    Oh, goodness, Lady Granbee–sounds like you survived a fully-awake nightmare. Survivors, that’s what all of still writing are, no? God be with you, dear one.

    • granbee
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 02:19:09

      Caddo, hooray for all survivors who WRITE!! Thank you for this reminder! And thanks for the blessing so much. Of course, you understand I experienced my “dog whisperer” skills many times throughout my life, before I was ever injured. It’s just that now I seem to have developed an extra layer of empathy for “angry” animals (they are simply very frightened!). The experience of soothing the angry dog removed the awareness of physical pain in the old granny. Get the word “sly” at the end? And how better to celebrate than with a good cup of coffee?

  2. Caddo Veil
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 07:59:46

    Sorry–typed too fast! “All of US still writing…” See you soon!

  3. Betty
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 08:33:29

    Firstly, I sure can understand the “pain” part, (but oh my, I’m so glad you survived the kidnapping/murder attempt!) and the “old granny” part. I love the way you’ve combined all these versions into an interesting set of images and thoughts, like a strobe effect… like facets, turning, turning, revealing parallel universes of yourself. Hard for me to put it into words, my impression of your poem, but I know you’ll understand! Thanks for all these views, Granbee – and I pray your “twinges” will be minimal.

    • granbee
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 02:22:36

      Betty, you get the gold ring! Yes, indeedy, soothing the angry(frightened and may hurting) dog put me “over the line” into that creature’s universe, leaving my own pain behind. And when that old granny so “slyly” chugged her good, hot cup of coffee, she was totally unaware of any twinges: except those spiritual twinges prodding her to figure out the righteous response to that huffy, nosy, not to say dense, neighbor.

  4. lscotthoughts
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 11:47:37

    Oh, Rose, I’m amazed at what you have experienced, but ever so grateful you have survived (sincerely said). Your imagery is wonderful in your poem. Blessings and hugs to you! 🙂

    • granbee
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 02:24:14

      Lauren, I am truly humbled by your enjoyment and appreciation of my imagery. Those images resulted from my ongoing struggle to figure out the “righteous” way to deal with that nosy, huffy, not to say impervious, neighbor! Always count on getting such helpful feedback from you!

  5. jennifer
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 03:53:14

    I’m so glad you survived!!!

    • granbee
      Dec 02, 2011 @ 03:57:33

      Let us celebrate survival and getting trickier and wiser together. Please reread to notice the “sly” at the very end of this post!

  6. bardessdmdenton
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 03:57:15

    Thank you for this anthem to survival through the creative life! And I love your above reply to Jennifer…

    • granbee
      Dec 18, 2011 @ 05:12:12

      Bardess, I am so glad you saw this as “an anthem to survival through the creative life.” It certainly came out of my heart that way! Regarding my reply to Jennifer above: you guys always teach me so much about the journey I am on with this writing every day!

Recent Tweets

