BLIND IN ONE EYE AND COCK-EYED IN THE OTHER


 

BLIND AND COCK-EYED OL’ SHAG DOG

 

 

Ol’ Shag was the dog last needed in the draw

and the dog first needed in duty stood alone

Ol’ Shag’s eyes had known slashing lion’s paw

and suffered ripping wolf fang hard as stone

 

Ol’ Shag was this night trotting in the rear

swinging grey head with foggy eye and rolling glance

Ol’ Shag dropped stalling behind no more to bear

first duty of watch, must duty of closing sheeply stance.

 

Ol’ Shag swung his head in search of a pat

telling him soon grazing was reached

Ol’ Shag felt not touch but song as flying mat

for which he once beseeched.

 

Ol’ Shag saw fuzzed scrambling where sheep climbed to grass

as he swung his head from dark side to tipping side

Ol’Shag breathed harder as song swept dark to pass

away in all glory once foretold of shepherd’s betide.

 

Ol’ Shag stood tethered and panting in left behind

and swung his head in dark and tilting field

When quite in tune with his seeking so blind

A sharp tooth of light did sight so yield.

 

Ol’ Shag knelt down in weeds so hushed

now saw clearly his master by a manger

once for donkey but now for baby shushed

now saw clearly the love for stranger.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenx67
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 08:40:50

    I would love it if you wrote a guest post for my site about your foray into the Blogosphere. Baby Boomers are the largest growing demographic here and I think it would be so inspiring for them to read from someone who had gained some traction. I think it’s astonishing that you were last writing in your 30s. I really enjoy your posts. I bet my Mom visits this site. She probably just doesn’t comment. =) I tried to get her to blog. Maybe she will yet! xoxo, jen

    • granbee
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 05:08:27

      Jen, I would be so honored to write a guest post on your site. I agree: I think it would be informative and exciting to have a “Boomer” post on your Gen X site. Then I can brag, brag, brag to my GenX adult children! I will write the post over this weekend and email it to you on Monday, 12/12/2011 for pasting into your site, okay? You can just publish it there whenever you like: I will watch for it and link it to Facebook and Twitter and LinkIn, and-and-and: oh, ALL OVER! My daughter- in-law, at http://hahousewife.wordpress.com has already been twitted about your site a couple of times. I am MORE than honored!

  2. totsymae1011
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 10:43:28

    You’ve got style and I like it. 🙂 So glad I met you, my fellow southerner.

    • granbee
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 05:09:54

      Totsy, I am speechless (almost) at your saying I have “style”. Coming from someone younger, that is so reassuring. So relieved I am communicating to you guys with my posts! Yeah, we Southern girls really got “flash”, don’t we?

  3. Caddo Veil
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 11:33:59

    Lady Granbee–I LOVED the title, to start with, and then the ending was simply amazing grace! Thanks much.

    PS–just to let you know, I’ve “re-decorated” at my place–but I don’t think you’ll get lost, you can smell the fresh-baked pumpkin bread!

    • granbee
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 05:10:53

      Caddo, your “decorations” are always lucious, no matter what! So pleased you enjoyed the title and especially the ending of this post.

  4. cottonbombs
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 12:42:48

    Ol’ Shag reminds me of the adage: don’t mock age, hope to reach it. Damn right. A beaten up dog witnessing the birth of the Messiah. There’s a lot to sing to here, Rose. Thank you for opening the hymn books to the verse of Ol’ Shag.

    • granbee
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 05:13:42

      Peter, you are always showing me “the way” in such unexpected ways and times. Now I will be in trouble with my minister for performing “Ol’ Shag” on Sunday evening during Advent–and it will be ALL YOUR FAULT, you outrageously inspiring guy, you! And just so you know: it is us ol’ beaten up mutts who see best!

  5. AJ Barlow
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 15:07:23

    Out of all the poems I’ve read of yours this has to be my favorite. Great poem! Thanks for sharing.

    • granbee
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 05:14:53

      AJ, you can thank me for this poem by reading it aloud to your little one during this leadup to Christmas! I am actually very grateful you consider this poem your favorite of mine: it is mine, too!

  6. Miss Demure Restraint
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 15:40:15

    You have such a unique and distinct style. I just love it. I like the twist that makes this an ideal poem for the season.

    • granbee
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 05:16:22

      Honey, us ol’ ladies do get “unique and distinct”, especially here in the Deep South, don’t you know? Thank you so very much, with hugs, for your kind compliments. So glad you enjoyed the Noel-ish twists!

  7. lscotthoughts
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 08:24:05

    Rose, this is amazing and yes, your style is grand and unique and I love it! What a wonderful tribute and the last line is lovely “now saw clearly the love for stranger.”

    • granbee
      Dec 11, 2011 @ 05:16:21

      I am so very honoured you treasured the line showing that we see clearly with our spirits when we forego being distracted by what our physical eyes may, or may not, see clearly, if at all! And the dear ol’ dog now knows. he is not a stranger to the Christ Child Being such a dog lover, empathizer, and “whisperer”, I just rejoice all over again as I reply to your gracious comment, Lauren. Thank you for helping me experience this joy all over again.!

  8. Sue Dreamwalker
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 00:45:51

    Well I will give Ol’ Shag a pat on the head and hope his tail will wag in my direction Granbee, For some reason this reminded me of an old battered teddy I had when i was a child, I so loved that teddy, lol.. And it reminded me it mattered not how we look, but the love we have and give.. Another wonderful addition to your Blog here Granbee.. Thank you xox

    • granbee
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 05:43:15

      Sue, I am so honored to have reminded you of the love you experienced with your old teddy. I was just describing my old battered teddy of childhood to my husband today at lunch! Wonderful, blessed memories. Indeed, it is ALL about the love, not the looks.

Recent Tweets

Granbee on Facebook

Rose Byrd

