Dragonfly Flutters Spotted Goat


 

 

DRAGONFLY BLUE ON SPOTTED GOAT

 

“As if, as if, huffy, puffy, luff, luff

“As if not bad enough, gruff stuff

“Standing out blotchedy, notchedy

“Spottedy, pottchedy, crotchedy

“Grazing down left behinds so mines

“Drinking down far corners left behinds.”

 

For, you see, Goatsy Spotsist was claimed by none.

For, you see, Papa, Mama, Uncle, Aunt white of bun.

For, you see, Notty Goatherd nor Potty Master claimed no black.

For, you see, no sight admitted of spotted nor striped on back.

For, you see, no hill held goats of marks,no rocks hid the strange.

For, you see, no such claimed admission on this pure grange.

 

“Oh, me, oh my, oh knee, oh back, all spottedy me, me,me.

“Oh, me, so left, so behind, no peace under pine tree, see.

“Oh, me, of my, all so bad, me so bad, but now am tried.

“Oh, me, so tried, so baddetdy triedetdy now buzz sighed.

“Oh, me, so sighed by buzzedty flysie so drag-goned flippy.

“Oh, me, of my, oh duffy puffy tuffy stop sippely flippy.”

 

For, you see, not just alone was Goatsy Spotsist, trying to graze,

But, you see, was Goatsy Spotsist all flipped by Dragonsy in maize.

Oh me, oh my, you see, poor loneliest Goatsiest Spotsiest was buzzed

Yes, you see, now you see, sipping Goatsy Spotsist by Flysie all fuzzed.

Dear, dear me, oh dear, dear one, scarcely could any more fluster

Dear, oh dear, now to be fussed and nagged was Goatsy now to bust-her.

 

“Oh, thou noble Goatsy, so coatsied in noble marks, so ready now for larks.

“Oh, thou most striking, stripeddy Goatsy, know you not you dressed in sparks,

“Know you not you sparked by starriest lights struck from above in angel choirs,

“Know you not you marked from above so special to carry me to blessed biers,

“Oh, thou most chosen Goatsy, now be flitted and fluttered by my wings in blue,

“Oh, thou royal marked Goatsy, now be running under my wings on path so true.”

 

For, you see, Goatsie Spotsist and Dragonsy Flysie in true blue bond called to join.

For, you see, Spotted One and Blue One leaping as one tilting angel not for coin.

For, you see, Spotsy and Bluesy bold as dragons skipping in flitters no more fluttered.

For, you see, Goatsie and Flysie far ahead of herders, ever closer than masters shuttered.

For, you see, leaping Spotted One and fluttering Bluesy One no more in worried wrinkles.

For, you see, sacred choiring of peace on earth, goodwill to all flew beast, flew fly, all smiling winkles.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lscotthoughts
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 22:19:35

    Rose, this is a wonderful, fun tale exhibiting what we all wish for…peace~ I esp. love “no more in worried wrinkles and smiling winkles!” How long does it take you to write these poems? Your choice of words are so enchanting, it makes me wonder. 🙂

    • granbee
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 02:48:33

      Lauren, thank you more than I can say for this wonderfully thoughtful, inquiring comment. Since I am still blessed at this point with a huge reservior bursting at the seams with perceptions, experiences, insights from the past 25 years or so(never writting down), it only takes me about 10-20 minutes to type out these posts. I only have to correct for typos, with a rare change or deletion of a preposition or so. I am finding that as I begin to relieve a little of the pressure from all that “storing up”, I am much more at peace during group converstaions, especially those where people put all their effort into avoiding anything below the surface of their experiences. I am becoming much more socially accessible, as long as I refrain from giving them my URL!

      • lscotthoughts
        Dec 15, 2011 @ 07:53:25

        Well, not only is that amazing, but wonderful, too! To have all this “stored up” and write these so rapidly and then to have them turn out as though you spent hours! You are amazing and I’m really glad I’ve met you via this blogging universe! 🙂

        • granbee
          Dec 15, 2011 @ 12:18:17

          Lauren, only by writing so much every day have I found the secret God was holding for me all these years; i.e., I think in entire chapters, not just verses, when receiving new input, as I go through my days. Only by writing as much and for as many hours as possible each day have I gained inner peace and mostly stay out of the “weird” house with my friends and family. My thoughts are organized as they acccumulate, as my most caring and talented teachers discovered in elementary school. You make me feel so WORTHY by saying how glad your are to have gotten to know me through blogging! Thank you and bless you as you continue on your own self-discovery adventures.

  2. The Background Story
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 22:22:48

    This is like a song!!! It doesn’t even need a beat. It has its own wonderful rhythm!

    • granbee
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 02:49:30

      Blessed are you among commenters, background story, to read this post as a song. That is what I felt when I was writing it!

  3. Angela
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 22:23:43

    As soon as I read your words I see images of children’s books floating through my mind. Your words are sooo colourful and bring all of your characters to life. I agree with Lauren, your words are enchanting. Love them!

    • granbee
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 02:53:40

      Yes, many of my artist friends think these should be made into a series of children’s books with ONE proviso: they should be for the child in all of us. They should retain enough sophistication and enough complexity to be ultimately described as adult fairie tales parents/grandparents can also share with their children. The children would not “get” some of the layers of the message, just as I did not “get” the symbolism of The Wizard of Oz or the Arabian Nights, etc.

  4. Sue Dreamwalker
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 23:12:33

    Arrgh Granbee, loved this… I can imagine brightly flying Dragonflies.. Magical as is the message… xx (( Hugs ))

    • granbee
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 02:55:42

      Being transformed in the light of our Creator’s love is ALWAYS magical. The “true blue”ness of the dragonfly’s supportive friendship with the spotted goat is simply a critterly manifestation of that divine love!

  5. Martin Shone
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 04:11:47

    Hello, granbee

    I shall try and comment for you, but I don’t know where to start. All the above comments seem to “see it”, but I can’t (again I know – thicko alert). This line for example: “Grazing down left behinds so mines” ??

    Sorry, granbee, again I am lost – I do wish I could see what it is you are writing but my eyes just go weeee and uh? and my mind thinks “cup of tea time” 🙂

    • granbee
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 04:22:14

      Hey, it’s ALWAYS the right time for a cuppa! Anyway, thanks for honoring my request for promptly. Actually, you have no idea how much your puzzlement at my “critter talk” helps me with my ongoing writing projects. I NEED this type of feedback, okay? Anyway, the spotted goat is forced to graze all alone because he was left behind by even his own kind. The inverted syntax is deliberately crunched in on itself to mirror how scrunched poor spotted goat’s heart is at this treatment from his “family.” Just so you know, most of the time when a writer uses this type of literary tool, it is to reflect what is UNDERNEATH the words being spoken. Sort of crittery acrostic-speak, you know?

  6. totsymae1011
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 04:22:49

    Sounds like you’re could be the next Dr. Seuss. For adults or adults. I see pictures; turmoil and overall good fun. What I also see is you dressing the part of a character and reading the book to us in a vlog. What fun!!

  7. granbee
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 04:26:06

    Yes, I would be really cute as a spotted goat, I think! Neat idea, totsy! Thanks. I have always believed that many more important, penetrating truths about the human conditiona and about true human aspirations are told by folks like Dr. Seuss! Remember all the critter-characters in Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’sTale”? So what is my writerly aspirations are sky high? Ya gotta start somewhere, right?

  8. zumpoems
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 06:15:36

    This is like a master piano sonata — so musical and full of modulations and sequences. Just beautiful!!!

    • granbee
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 06:19:15

      Piano sonata! You are an angel playing in heavenly choirs for saying this to me about this post! I really, really wanted a long of music and singing implied in this post–looks like you thought I succeeded. Humble bow to you, Zum!

      • zumpoems
        Dec 18, 2011 @ 05:41:51

        Be great to see this get wider distribution. On a related note (though site is not often enough visited to provide much referral traffic) would be great to feature you at choiceposts.wordpress.com — just follow the instructions in the first post (or in the about) if interested. Once again, won’t drive much traffic, but be great to feature your site.

        • granbee
          Dec 18, 2011 @ 06:24:03

          What an honor! Thank you. Unfortunately, I will not have time to do this until Monday, 12/19/2011, okay? Will be most happy to do at that time. Am keeping the email notice of this comment as a reminder, okay? Bless you!

  9. cottonbombs
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 13:24:56

    Rose! Your limitless imaginations continues to see beyond borders of language to invent new fields where feeling plays hopscotch with a verse that does not let the formalities of the abcs of dictionaries get in the way of a good poem. Great on you! Have you ever read John Lennon`s prose, because he was also fearless in the invention of words.

    • granbee
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 15:51:36

      Peter, geewhizz, how do I say a simple thank you to such effusion, such commenting beyond borders? Does that mean we are Poets Without Borders? I certainly hope and pray so! Thank you for the “beyond borders” concept. That is a large part of my aspiration, my goals in writing poetry at this point in my life! I want to reach THROUGH and BEYOND the veils of confusion that separate humankind! I sort of think Lennon was doing that, also. Yes, I read him; also read and loved esteemed British writers who constructed new English to construct new threads of thought to tie us together. I have often found that formalities draw too much attention to their own forms, distracting us from the message. Humankind is often so busy faking themselves out that they must almost be hypnotized with higgledy-piggledys to give the meaning a chance to soak in. So grateful you visited here today the way you did!

  10. mjray926
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 21:20:36

    Love the rhyme scheme! 🙂

    • granbee
      Dec 23, 2011 @ 06:31:43

      So glad you enjoy these rhymes. They are instrumental in focusing multiple layers of meaning down into a very concentrated set of syllables!

Recent Tweets

