THE SHEPHERD WITH ONE EYE ON THE END OF HIS CROOK


 

 

Now one brief meeting of the  floppy eared and the stamping one

With Old Shephered of the Seeing Crook along the star dusted path

Now one moment or two before first parting with crooky eye tone

Winking just in time to signal a pause between stamping and flopping wrath

At being so disturbed in their new threesome, their new team in the bone

Now one moment, one held breath, of new sight before such triple math.

 

Just one brief moment of waving the Seeing Crook before the ears and roots,

Just one brief moment of blinding ears and roots with site of heavy donkey load.

Just one brief  moment of glazing fur of ears and bark of roots to make new mutes

Of all three friends on the path,now shattered by glittering light on young girl’s cloak,

Now one brief moment of knighting the shoulders under ears and twigs wearing no boots,

Just one brief moment of sparking fire off the donkey load with heaving mothery croak.

 

 

NOTE:  Now floppy-eared boy and floppy-eared donkey and Stump Woman must rest before more sightings from Seeing Eye on Shepherd’s Crook!  For now they are totally weak and unable to travel in this hour of new sight.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. willowdot21
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 05:08:44

    I love your advent story it is so beautiful I wonder if the characters in your story will meet the characters in mine… what an idea. Thank you for sharing your amazing stories. xxxx

    • granbee
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:17:53

      What an honor that would me for my “sort-of” folk! Seriously, after we both publish our respective stories/series, we should consider a collaboration, hit up the movie moguls for humongous amounts of film rights, and decline to answer our phones thereafter! What ‘cha thunk? Seriously, I am sending out this series, with illustrations by a friend (with me providing rough sketches, of course!) no later than August, 2012. I will continue with similar treatments of all major holidays of all the world’s religions–should keep me busy for a year or two, huh? Love your comments on this site! Love your blog, as well.

  2. Betty Hayes Albright
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 05:13:00

    Very creative, Granbee – methinks someday you should put this series of poems into a Christmas book for young and old alike!

    • granbee
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:20:54

      Betty, me has already been thinking like you say in your comment here (very kind and encouraging!) for quite some time now. Actually, there are a lot MORE of this type of series in my noggin, in my heart and soul, to cover major holidays of all world religions/faith systems. Your encouragement is invaluable to me as I wrack my brains for who knows how long?

  3. Laurie Kolp
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 06:01:09

    How delightful and so very creative this is! I love the repition throughout, too.

    • granbee
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:22:08

      Laurie, you are so kind and gracious and encouraging in your feedback here. Yes, the repetition is essential in order to hit the reader on every part of his/her receptors.

  4. cottonbombs
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:50:56

    Rose! Is this all we are? One brief moment that defines us forever? Essentially we are our choices that can come from the slightest of moments. They all add up to us now. Let’s choose wisely!

    • granbee
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:24:13

      Peter, does the phrase, “in the twinkling of an eye” ring a bell with you? Eternity is contained in every micromillisecond, don’t you KNOW that? The right decision made in that split second is capable of moving mountains, shifting star systems and galaxies in their orbits: scientific fact, my man! Love you, Peter!

  5. worshipandswag
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 16:22:56

    I love the note…lol. Haha thanks for making sure we’re all on the same page! 🙂

    • granbee
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:25:36

      Worship, as much as it pains me, I DO attempt to write in plain prose at rare intervals. (ha, ha, tee, hee!) So glad we ARE on the same page. Love your sense of humour and perspective,girl!

  6. The Background Story
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 16:35:57

    I think you could do well with writing nursery rhymes for the little ones! 🙂

    • granbee
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:27:18

      Background, I must be “doing well”, because that is exactly what I am working on to publish in 2012, except it will be for all ages, sort of like Alice in Wonderland, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Wizard of Oz, etc.

  7. lscotthoughts
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 02:51:07

    I love your noggin, Rose! These are just so delightful and entertaining, yet, send a true lovely message to your readers! Merry Christmas to you, wonderful friend! xx

    • granbee
      Dec 24, 2011 @ 13:51:12

      Munchingly appreciated, Lauren! (See how these critters are popping out all over?) I am pleased beyond words (almost–ha!) that you find these little stories “delightful and entertaining”–because I have found that mode of talking about very weighty truths to be much more successful with seekers who do not yet know they are seekers! These are the folk I seem to be directed to talk to, as well as all of you self-acknowledged seekers (including myself). Merry Christmas, dear Sister Lauren!

  8. lscotthoughts
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 06:44:30

    Dear Rose,
    Speaking of munching…I have been way too much! Ha,ha! I’m glad your little critters are popping out all over because you have a much devoted audience and we look forward to more adventures! Merry Christmas to you, too, Rose, and a blessed new year with publication possibilities! Hugs!

    • granbee
      Dec 25, 2011 @ 14:13:02

      Lauren, here in the DeepSouth,USA, we are considered sacriligious if we don’t stuff ourselves into a coma with Christmas goodies! Strange you should mention critters popping out all over, because I have found myself waiting on morning strolls for a hen or a frog or a crow or an animated roadside stump. This somewho seems natural in the midst of lots of holiday greenery and lights and ribbons. I have heard very accomplished actors saying they actually became their roles. I can now understand that. Just think what would happen if I did not have this blogging to reestablish some theoretical perspective and balance!

Recent Tweets

Granbee on Facebook

Rose Byrd

