STUMBLING INTO BERRIES WHERE WATER MIXES WITH OIL


 

 

 

BERRIES SERVED OVER OIL

 

 

Leaning each to each in dependence

 

Thirsting and hungering friends partake

 

Of dust and starlight in squints transcendence

 

Crawling stamping sniffing finding no lake.

 

 

Sparking light from soul to soul pushes the feet

 

Of those bearing the good news from baby’s eyes

 

Over all the rocks of night and scrapes to treat

 

Stringing as one pulled by the light of blooded skies.

 

 

First one tumbles, then one grumbles, then two stumble

 

Next three crumble neath twisted branch in sighing

 

Next all mumble “Babe showed us, Kings pushed us”: no fumble

 

Agreeing all rise as friends over one more hill crying.

 

 

Agreeing friends trip down in slide to beckoning bush

 

Bearing juicing berry shapes so promising of succour

 

Crowding the low scraggling fruited in crush

 

Stamping the lowly roots to feed all plucker.

 

 

What now the bow over slickery water so desired

 

What now the skirling pool so dressed in oil.

 

What now the oil coating cracked throats so mired.

 

What now the tied friends choke, “for Babe to toil.”

 

60 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martin Shone
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 06:48:21

    I don’t know why I like this, Rose, but it just feels nice πŸ™‚

    • granbee
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:05:57

      Martin, not “knowing” is exactly how you are supposed to receive my poems in this series. “Just liking” is exactly the right response! See, in order to get people to truly connect with each other around the world, you have to get much deeper than the higher cognitive nonsense and reach the heart, the soul. Thanks SO MUCH for commenting.

  2. mtsweat
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 08:01:27

    Wonderful writing gift you have granbee. Thank you and God’s blessing upon your encouraging and inspiring words.

    • granbee
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:06:59

      Bless you BOTH! So pleased you receive blessings from reading my posts. I always enjoy your own posts and receive inspiration from them.

  3. nightshade130
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 08:32:00

    I just love your way with words Granbee.It’s always exciting to find out what you’re gonna write about next. Stay blessed πŸ˜€

  4. totsymae1011
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 09:44:01

    I agree with NightShade130. You twist and turn this and that corner and wind on down to conclude with a sweetness in the end. πŸ™‚

    • granbee
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:09:20

      Tots, as you know only too well, our lives are often connected through twists and turns and bumps and scrapes==and yes, there IS sweetness at the end!

  5. adalamar
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 12:15:03

    Oh I like this! Great flow and just a great piece! πŸ™‚ I too love the twist and turns you take us on.

    • granbee
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:10:35

      So pleased and gratified you enjoyed this twisting and turning while still flowing! That is how our lives connect with each other in many cases,don’t you think?

  6. cottonbombs
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 15:18:35

    Rose! We all must trip to travel. We all must fall to see the earth closely. If you haven’t dove for something and come up with nothing but dirt in your teeth you haven’t tried hard enough. Thank you for giving us all succor and a shelter to get together and share such a human theme.

    • granbee
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:12:25

      Oh, Peter, you almost brought tears of both relief and joy to my eyes when reading over your comment here. You put into prose what I was yearning to say in this poem. Yes, that is my greatest wish: to join many together from around the world in succour, in a place of sweet shelter.

  7. nightshade130
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 21:24:53

    Hi Granbee,

    I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. You deserve it because you inspire me and I love reading from you! Stay blessed my friend πŸ˜€ Check out the link here: http://nightshade130.wordpress.com/2012/01/14/one-lovely-blog-award/

    • granbee
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:14:21

      Oh, nightshade, I am MORE than honored with you nominating my blog for Lovely Blogger award. I am VERY deep into transforming my images from my year-long dream journal into illustrations for this poetry series. I HOPE to have time to properly respond to these nominations in a couple of weeks. I am always inspired by your posts, dear girl.

  8. willofheart
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:01:38

    wow, i love every lines, this is amazing …

    • granbee
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:15:30

      Oh, willo, I love it that you love my lines in this post! So wonderful to feel I am playing a small part in connecting more and more of us in genuine ways–through the heart and the soul!

  9. Caddo Veil
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 10:31:11

    “Promising of succour” is the part I like best–

    • granbee
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 12:27:23

      We all hunger and thirst for that succour, Caddo! So pleased you focused on that! Thank you!

      • Caddo Veil
        Jan 18, 2012 @ 11:46:31

        I love the new picture at the top–it is new, isn’t it (or have I misplaced my mind again?)? Thanks for always being there–and here! God bless you.

        • granbee
          Jan 18, 2012 @ 12:08:07

          Thanks Caddo, for your affirmation of my decision to place our journey among the rocks, seeking the light to point out the way to the Living Waters. I think I cropped this one to give enough of that idea, didn’t I?

  10. eof737
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 10:41:35

    I couldn’t get that brilliant image out of my head… berries served over oil… perfect! πŸ™‚

    • granbee
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 12:37:10

      eof, I couldn’t resist our friends finally finding some food, the berries, and having the food hanging over oil-and-water that DOES appear to “mix”! Also, oil is everywhere east of Bethlehem, right? (Ha!) So pleased you enjoyed and provided this valuable feedback.

  11. worshipandswag
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 10:51:22

    Wow! Ok I thought you posted on some food you discovered at a deserted diner but nope, you dashed my hopes. Lol just kidding! But can your writing get any funnier/crazier/intense or what? Seriously you’re out of the box, and I’m always wondering what goes on in your head when you put your poems together! πŸ˜€

    • granbee
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 12:43:14

      Worship, that berry bush IS a desert-ed diner! (tee-hee) Seriously, I have to write “out-of-the-box” to have any hope of reaching the people I want to reach in a way that builds truly soul-ful connections! Bring along your packing crates and we will fill them with nectar and dew and grains of golden tunes!

  12. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 14:07:54

    What Martin said – “it just feels nice”. A very loveable poem, Granbee (as all of them have been). I find them uplifting on those other levels beyond our mundane consciousness. (They hit us on an intuitive level – that of the superconscious….)

    • granbee
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 12:46:00

      Betty, when Martin “just feels nice” after reading a poem of mine, the rest of us play on golden harps! I really celebrate your use of the term “superconscious”
      –that is exactly the part of the human organism I wish to tap into.

  13. lscotthoughts
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 13:35:44

    Rose, I’m running behind, so sorry for the delay, but I’m finally feeling a little more human so I can read your magical tales. I love the verse below and this poem just made me feel warm and fuzzy inside~ πŸ™‚

    Agreeing friends trip down in slide to beckoning bush
    Bearing juicing berry shapes so promising of succour
    Crowding the low scraggling fruited in crush
    Stamping the lowly roots to feed all plucker.

    • granbee
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 13:46:41

      Lauren, so pleased and relieved you and yours are getting well! Welcome back! Whenever I can make YOU feel warm and fuzzy inside, I know that it is agreat achievement. I am so honored that you would say this. I absolutely enjoyed writing those four lines you quote and felt myself sliding and slurping right along with the critters!

  14. claudia
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 00:33:09

    maybe that sounds weird but reminded me somehow of the three wise men in search for jesus, following the stars and having treasure in their backpacks…i like the way you spin this tale..nice..

    • granbee
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 01:55:04

      Claudia, it was SUPPOSED to remind you of the searches and treasure carrying of the WiseMen–their journey is what has inspired and triggered our critterly friends’ journey here. Hooray, my Muse is successful with me once again!

  15. Sue Dreamwalker
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 00:55:34

    Oh Granbee you head shall be Anointed !!!…. “”Crowding the low scraggling fruited in crush-Stamping the lowly roots to feed all plucker.””… We may stumble but we are the Fruit.. πŸ™‚ and I may do a little of my own Mixing very soon Granbee πŸ˜‰ ..
    Love and Gratitude xx Sue

    • granbee
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 01:56:26

      Mixing oil and water: you go, girl! We ARE the fruit of the vine, Sue. We feed His lambs, including some very odd sorts of critters, right?

      • Sue Dreamwalker
        Jan 18, 2012 @ 06:16:49

        Yes some odd critters indeed Granbee, but isnt that whom we are supposed to reach? The odder the Better, for that shows we are all the Same! πŸ™‚ love to you this evening… And I will be back tomorrow.. I have some spare Time! πŸ™‚

        • granbee
          Jan 18, 2012 @ 12:06:01

          Exactimundo, Sue–we love the odd ones because WE are the odd ones! Happily journeying into the Light Odd Ones, yes we are!

  16. Jane Thorne
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 04:41:40

    I’m with Martin on this one…it made me feel good as I read it but I can’t articulate why…it just did. Take care Granbee x

  17. Nita's Own Little Space.....
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 15:10:10

    Hello granbee, how are u? I’ve nominated you for the kreativ blogger award. Pls check my page for it. Thanks!

  18. Jane Thorne
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 16:44:18

    Good morning Granbee – I have given you the Genuine Blogger Award. I love your blog and gain much light from your postings, so I wanted to pass this onto you…..the link is http://wp.me/p1l7Si-sJ

    Have a great day and keep writing – love Jane x

    • granbee
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 01:58:34

      Bless your little pea pickin’ heart, dear Jane! Thank you so much for this honor. I love blogging at your site, as well.

  19. Savira
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 17:41:42

    The twists and turns of friendship…is always a fascinating story

    • granbee
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 01:59:28

      As, the twists and turns do the journey make. If we did not move together in our friendships, we would just die on the vine like berries without water.

  20. Vampire Weather
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 15:32:17

    Astounding work, my friend! I love the following:

    “Sparking light from soul to soul pushes the feet
    Of those bearing the good news from baby’s eyes
    Over all the rocks of night and scrapes to treat
    Stringing as one pulled by the light of blooded skies.”

    Your descriptions are riveting

    • granbee
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 15:41:42

      vampire, to know that I have rivetted YOUR attention, even to the point of astounding you, is almost more than I can handle and ever hope for humility again! Bless you and thank you, dear friend online!

      • Vampire Weather
        Jan 19, 2012 @ 06:52:04

        You make it sound as if I were something special, when indeed your work is far superior in scope and development than my own. I am merely a fumbling novice who persists as a form of therapy at times πŸ˜‰

        • granbee
          Jan 20, 2012 @ 01:00:08

          Vampire, you ARE special and your work is publishable! Take it from this ol lady returning writer! Emily Dickinson seemed to have written for therapy, okay? And look at the poets published in The New Yorker (newyorker.com online) for crying outloud! My onliest, tiniest suggestion to you would be: CELEBRATE just one thing OUTSIDE yourself once per week! Get outside and meditate on this ONE POSITIVE THING when you are feeling fairly peaceful but physically lazy. Keep speaking with the wonderfully gifted rhythmical voice you already possess: just get outside your normal frames of reference at least once per week!

          • Vampire Weather
            Jan 24, 2012 @ 10:13:43

            I appreciate the suggestion. I am fighting to do that in general at the moment. I have a distaste for my current work, and my daily thoughts. I am struggling to pass this dark phase and explore new worlds again

            • granbee
              Jan 25, 2012 @ 03:40:42

              Vampire, here is a suggestion that has worked for me time and again, over several decades: Go for a walk in a place, or a type of place, that you have never been before. You CAN find one, I am confident. Even if it is just for 10 minutes, breath deeper, swing your arms, look UP about every dozen steps. Try it, I dare you! You have too much talent and soul to waste in the shadows of this world!

  21. Fergiemoto
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 23:36:17

    Fantastic way you have with word imagery! Claudia described it best for me. They are the same images I had while reading your poem.

    • granbee
      Jan 19, 2012 @ 04:07:41

      You and Claudia were seeing EXACTLY what you were supposed to in those images of the three Wise Men: the “friends” had just encountered them and were continuing on East, being irresistibly pulled by “The Light” and feeling they were commanded to do so by the look in the Babe’s eyes in that stable. The aura of the WiseMen stay with these friends for a very long while! Thanks so much for your time and thought with your comments here. Most helpful to this ol’ gal!

  22. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 23:49:35

    ‘Sparking light from soul to soul pushes the feet’

    One of my favorite lines…made me think of this creative community of bloggers and how we support and encourage each other!

    These ‘journeying’ posts of yours always leave one wondering what is around the next corner…

    • granbee
      Jan 19, 2012 @ 04:09:15

      Bardess, thank you so very much for your insightful feedback here. Our blogging community is one of the inspirations for this series. We journey together, following light shed by each other and from above, do we not? When I leave the reader wondering what is around the next corner, I have done my job with that particular post!

  23. Raven of Leyla
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 02:16:07

    You way with words is delightful, a treat indeed. I am taking it all in with a smile and a kindred heart πŸ˜‰
    A warm feathery hug to you,
    Rx

  24. zendictive
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 21:33:26

    masterful (~_~) reminds me of children playing, joyous and light hearted

    • granbee
      Jan 21, 2012 @ 23:01:05

      Wonderful reaction on your part, Art! Shows your zen heart, I believe! We should all β€œplay” more to gain more wisdom

  25. Author of Christian Comfort & Conversation
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 20:04:17

    Granbee, there is a message waiting for you on the comments page of post titled: Mistaken Identity. Be blessed. Praying for you.

    Have a God-filled Day and be encouraged .

Recent Tweets

Granbee on Facebook

Rose Byrd

