creatingreciprocity

Camfed (Campaign for Female Education) is an international, non-profit organisation focused on educating and empowering girls and young women in a bid to eradicate poverty and help develop societies.   Camfed programs operate in Zimbabwe, Zambia, Ghana, Tanzania and Malawi.

In 1993, an English woman named Ann Cotton started Camfed at her kitchen table after a visit to Africa.  Nineteen years later, Camfed has helped 1,451,600 children with their education.  In addition, they have also set up the Cama Network – an offshoot of Camfed which trains and organises women to provide support, healthcare and education to others in their communities,

Wonderful as these things are there has been an unexpected outcome from this whole endeavour – the Camfed graduates have become individual philanthropists themselves.

The girls who have benefitted from the help given by Camfed, are now helping an average of 5 other girls at any one time – not including…

View original post 101 more words

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. poeticjourney
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 01:39:42

    Thank You for reblogging Granbee! God Bless 🙂

    • granbee
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 01:43:51

      Journey, it was my great pleasure. These movements are right in line with what I want to stimulate and support in my own adult fairytale series, much of what appears in my posts here. When I get to your own blog in a little while, I am going to mention again Camfed and Cama Network, okay?

  2. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 01:43:41

    Thank you for this post granbee, it’s really informative and I think we need subjects like this brought to our attention because I feel it is a part of the human condition that we don’t go looking for this kind of information, rather we just happen across it which is sad really.

    There is so much good happening out there by people giving their time and effort and they need applauding.

    It is so easy to read something like this and then go downstairs to a cosy fire and a lovely hot meal and the evening’s TV and not give it much further thought because it is all happening so far away. I think, also, advances in media are able to show us so much of this type of thing that it can negate its significance if you know what I mean.

    I am now going downstairs to that cosy fire but I will not forget what I have just read. I love the end where it says “Human beings, endlessly wonderful once they get a chance”.

    A lovely post – thank you

    Christine x

    • granbee
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 01:47:09

      Christine, I could not resist rebloggings these two posts from http://creatingreciprocity.wordpress.com because they are right in line with what I wish to promote, support, and stimulate for peace and justice around the world. This is what drives my Muse when writing the adult fairytale series you have been reading in my posts–and will continue to read. I would recommend your following the creatingreciprocity blog if you want to keep abreast of positive action for genuine improvements in the human conditions, and the environment, around the world.

  3. Christine Moran
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 01:48:47

    Thank you granbee x

    Christine

  4. ElizOF
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 10:49:11

    I enjoyed that post. 😉

    • granbee
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 23:56:10

      ElizOF, I am so very pleased to bring you joy with this post. Stay tuned to see how it(and the other 3 reblogs here) will play into my ongoing adultfairytale/allegorical poetry series.

  5. Sue Dreamwalker
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 21:01:59

    Thanks for reposting this Granbee, I went to read the full post. and it does our hearts good to see so much heart felt work being done around the world.. xxx

    • granbee
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 23:57:39

      Yes, Sue, it certainly lifts our hearts to see this much good, this many postive connections for improvements on this planet. This reblog, and the 3 others reblogged here today, will play into my ongoing poetry series very, very much. Stay tuned and keep up the prayer drumbeats for me, as I do for you and all your aspirations.

  6. cocomino
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 21:25:44

    Great challenge. I believe that we can change the world.

    • granbee
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 23:59:33

      Oh, dear, dear, coco, I too believe we CAN change the world, most fervently. Stay tuned to see how this reblog (and the 3 others appearing here on this same date) will play into my ongoing fairytale/allegorical poetry series. You know, I KNEW you held this belief just from seeing your gravatar and name, before I ever read a word of any of your posts!

  7. willowdot21
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 22:33:02

    I went to the original blog and posted this! “I know this all goes on and I give to charities but again you have brought me up short! Thank you!” You brought it my attention again so Granbee THANK YOU!

    • granbee
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 00:01:02

      Oh, dear willowdot, it is always my pleasure and honor to highlight postive actions and postive peaceful connections between people in the world. Stay tuned to see how this reblog (and the 3 others appearing here on this date) play into my ongoing allegorical,adult fairytale series.

  8. Jane Thorne
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 22:56:53

    Thank you Granbee..I used to live in Zimbabwe and South Africa and the scenes of poverty and struggle there have stayed with me…thanks for re-posting this as I didnl;t know about this program…love Jane x

    • granbee
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 00:02:48

      Jane, you are most welcome. How neat that you once lived in Zimbabwe and South Africa. What an advantage you have over me, who only has good friends both from there and still living there. Stay tuned to see WHY I selected these 4 particularly post to reblog here on this date together. They very much play into my ongoing allegorical,adult fairtytale poetry series.

  9. "
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 06:30:37

    Nice blog! Also I really like your web site a lot and it loads fast!
    What host are ya with. I wish my web site loaded up as fast as yours.

    • granbee
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 23:17:15

      Hello: rqrfzdgrneoqxhhmxbdu
      AugustDavidEverettRex//”group at diigo? My website is a wordpress website. You can see that info included in the URL of the address bar in your browser after you enter my website. So pleased you like my blog. I would encourage you to sign up for a wordpress website, which is free, offering a good selection of free themes with all sorts of widgets. Check it out!

  10. lscotthoughts
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 11:09:08

    Thanks for sharing this, Rose…I wasn’t aware of this program and it is a remarkable story and how it all began with Ann Cotton. Truly amazing and what this world needs more of to be of assistance~ xx

    • granbee
      Jan 30, 2012 @ 17:30:57

      So pleased you learned from and enjoyed this reblogged post from CreatingReciprocity, Lauren. I highly recommend following that blog where surprising progress in unexpected places is frequently highlighted. So pleased you feel as I do about this type of assistance being needed so very much in our world.

  11. Vampire Weather
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 11:47:15

    So true. The title itself says volumes. Great work, my friend. Thank you for sharing!

    • granbee
      Jan 30, 2012 @ 17:32:35

      Yes, friend VW, the title really does say so much about what can be accomplished one person at a time. Bless you for your encouragement.

  12. becca givens
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 00:11:36

    It is awesome to see and hear of good news from that area of the world … all I hear/see is the horrific. Thank you for sharing!! What a beacon ~~ 😀

    • granbee
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 00:43:33

      Becca, this is what I have been saying in my poetic sage of critters and unfolksies questing and carrying on together–there are many surprising groups of folk in surprising places accomplishes surprising achievements. You may want to visit CreatingReciprocity again and again in future to be blessed with similar achievement stories where innovation and cooperation win the day!

  13. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 01:41:26

    What a powerful message, showing the value put upon really important matters in societies less ‘easy’ than ours. Education is the key…a hunger for betterment and learning that is as much in the spirit as the classroom. But it needs the opportunity to move beyond survival to flourishing. Thanks for sharing!

    • granbee
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 01:43:47

      bardess, thank you for such enthusiastic affirmation of my decision to include this reblog in a partial segue of our friends’ journey in the poetry series. Yes, that hunger for betterment and learning is a matter of the spirit. Let us support it to keep the light turned on!

  14. willofheart
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 06:33:35

    I salute to Ann Cotton who founded CAMFED and show the power of education because education truly an empowerment. Great post thanks for sharing …

    • granbee
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 07:47:07

      Willof, it was more than my pleasure to reblog this amazing story here. It plays in so well with my connecting-to-make-a-difference, to complete a quest, to reach goals with unexpected “critters” in unexpected places. So glad you received meaning from learning about CAMFED. The blog where I found this is often full of this type of good news. Creatingreciprocity is wonderful at spreading this type of good word on special projects in out-of-the-way places.

Recent Tweets

Granbee on Facebook

Rose Byrd

