….and they said I could not lead


The wobblies and the squabblies followed ol’ Ugly Bird’s glinting eye, leaning and keening and screening and preening up and up out of that stinking morass

Until they heard and paused and caused munching mumbles, all crookelly and tookelly were they disarrayed along that path ’til they hushed and heard by Floppy Ear:

[The following self-dialogue was in response to Lenten Day 1 devotional found at: Open Invitation to Join Terri from Cloaked Monk, 2 Corinthians 5:20 β€” 6:10]

Spoken by BushNosed StumpWoman:

“Yet, was I decaying as I entered the day
Yet, was I decrying my life as I left the night
Yea, I was stepping into light in new enfleshed heart
Yea, I was declaiming new life as I left the old.

Others said I was running a lost race
My Lord said I had already won.
Others said I was whistling up a rain pipe
My Lord said I was singing with the angels.

Yet, was I decaying as I entered the day
Yet, was I decrying my life as I left the night
Yea, I was stepping into light in new enfleshed heart
Yea, I was declaiming new life as I left the old.

Others said I was running a lost race
My Lord said I had already won.
Others said I was whistling up a rain pipe
My Lord said I was singing with the angels.”

 

NOTE:Β  Granbee encourages each of you to join me and others in this Lenten Journey over at CloakedMonk.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty Hayes Albright
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 06:36:04

    Uplifting and rapturous, Granbee – in this new light of Spring!

    • granbee
      Feb 24, 2012 @ 01:21:17

      Yes, we should look up, up, up into more and more light each day. This is a Lenten focus for me. So pleased you are joining in the vision, Betty!

  2. cloakedmonk
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 06:44:53

    Totally reminded me of the beatitudes…last shall be first, etc. Nice work!

  3. worshipandswag
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 09:44:29

    Very encouraging, Granbee! Reassuring words for the brokenhearted πŸ™‚

    • granbee
      Feb 24, 2012 @ 01:23:44

      Yes, worship, I do want so much to perform this ministry of encouragement to people with emotional pain! So pleased you feel this is being useful in this regard!

  4. VIKRAM ROY
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 11:30:36

    Lighten up, with love and devotion! πŸ™‚

  5. totsymae1011
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 12:46:37

    CloakedMonk? What are you all doing? You didn’t add the link.

    I love that last stanza. That you’d already won. Whistling up a rain pipe and singing with the angels.

    Very melodic and that confirmation that you were a winner. Nice touch.

  6. willofheart
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 20:40:59

    there soo much love on it. very enlighten and uplifting…

  7. nightshade130
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 00:19:58

    Aww I really like this one Granbee. The race is for those who endure the trials. They who proceed to run it have already won the battle in Him who paves the way towards the finish line. πŸ˜€

  8. Sue Dreamwalker
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 03:05:55

    Arrgh Granbee.. I read all then went to your link. and read some more.. πŸ™‚ smiling with a heart open and full, for I wonder just how many folks know that we are all upon that same journey.. Regardless of which skin we are in.. or whether we hobble or squabble, Run or crawl, we are all in this together, the long haul..
    And Yet it matters not if’ we whistle up drain pipes’ what matters is we are whistling! And we are indeed singing with the Angels Granbee.. All the same tune in many different ways! And Im so happy to be walking along that road with all of your critters Granbee
    Hugs ~Sue

    • granbee
      Feb 24, 2012 @ 03:12:34

      Bless you manifold, dearest Sue! Such a careful and full of care reader you are! Yes, we lead on together, irregardless of external differences and/or limitations! Let us keep beating our drums in synchrony all the the way to the top!

  9. claudia
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 04:49:17

    already won for sure…wonderful play on the corinthians lines…sing on..smiles

    • granbee
      Feb 24, 2012 @ 05:11:03

      Bless you, Claudia, for picking up on that Corinthian’s line. So pleased you enjoyed this post. Let us march on together!

  10. eof737
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 04:57:31

    I can’t believe Lent is around the corner already… πŸ˜‰

  11. lscotthoughts
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 10:20:22

    Lovely and encouraging, Rose, and I love the last stanza:
    Others said I was running a lost race
    My Lord said I had already won.
    Others said I was whistling up a rain pipe
    My Lord said I was singing with the angels.”

    May I also “ditto” Sue Dreamwalker’s comment? She says it so well and I concur~

    • granbee
      Feb 25, 2012 @ 00:09:44

      Bless you, lovely Lauren, for your ongoing support and encouragement. I was rather pleased with how those lines came out, as well, to express the sense of victory I felt in marching upward with Stump Woman! You may always ditto Sue Dreamwalker and beat your drum along with ours!

  12. cottonbombs
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 13:27:49

    I’m reading from latest post to now, and I just left a comment that that post was one of my favorites, but, now I want to say that this post is one of my favorites, but, I can’t do that, because it will dilute the meaning of favorite and you will never take me seriously when I use the word again. So, Rose, let me just say that I deeply enjoyed this post and we will leave the rankings for Billboard’s Top 40.

    • granbee
      Feb 25, 2012 @ 00:11:21

      Peter, what would we ever do on this journey without you to keep us in proper rankings? Ha! So pleased you liked both posts. Now I am aghast that you would think I could ever take you anything but totally seriously!

  13. Christine Moran
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 20:01:42

    granbee,

    This is such a positive affirmation! I m warmed and encouraged by this

    Much love and doggy love

    Christine xx

    • granbee
      Feb 25, 2012 @ 00:12:23

      Many hugs to you and Jack, Christine! Yes, this is quite the affirmation here of what we can do “only believing”! Thanks so much for your ongoing support and encouragement.

  14. reneeboomer
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 00:48:48

    Hugz to you Granbee. Have a wonderful day. .enjoyed this lovely afirmation for sure.. πŸ™‚

  15. Sarah Baughman
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 04:58:36

    I love BushNosed StumpWoman’s confident response and her joy in shedding an old life for a new…

    • granbee
      Feb 25, 2012 @ 05:54:45

      Bless you, Sarah, for stopping in and your supportive comments. Confidence is bristling all over every twig on her bushy nose, right? No doubt a lot of mold and mildew scraped off in the process!

  16. willowdot21
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 04:11:50

    I am among your number ..a hobbling at the back!!

  17. bardessdmdenton
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 08:28:30

    Oooh…such an affirmation of our worth in God’s light. The last two lines are especially wonderfully, so down to earth and lifted up to heaven!

Recent Tweets

