“…..are you sure we can find the Light among all this tarnished metal?”


************************************

Lenten Journey – Day 29
Biblical Scripture: John 8:12-20
Open Invitation to Join Terri from

Cloaked Monk

*************************************

 

21-Mar-12: John 8:12-20

 

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness but will have the light of life.” 13 Then the Pharisees said to him, “You are testifying on your own behalf; your testimony is not valid.” 14 Jesus answered, “Even if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid because I know where I have come from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going. 15 You judge by human standards; I judge no one. 16 Yet even if I do judge, my judgment is valid; for it is not I alone who judge, but I and the Father who sent me. 17 In your law it is written that the testimony of two witnesses is valid. 18 I testify on my own behalf, and the Father who sent me testifies on my behalf.” 19 Then they said to him, “Where is your Father?” Jesus answered, “You know neither me nor my Father. If you knew me, you would know my Father also.” 20 He spoke these words while he was teaching in the treasury of the temple, but no one arrested him, because his hour had not yet come.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“…..are you sure we can find the Light among all this tarnished metal?”

 

 

 

“So now we gosey calmsey, we stepsey firmsey, you say, dear Crow?”

So did all friends, being critters still, march along a path just right.

So did all folksies hold each to the other round all rocks making slow

And then fast and then quiet on their Babe-sent quest to seek All Light.

 

“Oh, now what sees here, what spies there, all this rusty-dusty-busty coin?”

“Oh, how blurrsey, how fuzzies this metally petally store could ruinsies the Light!”

“Oh, hop, skip and pop o’er here, ye bumbly ones, “calls down Crow to brace their loin.

“Oh, here, just here is clear path past all junk, past all dimming, to lead us to Bright!”

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. willowdot21
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 05:28:26

    Old crow shared my wine now we are too tired to say anything tonight!!

  2. totsymae1011
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 07:28:51

    Yep, yep, get that junk outta the path and bring on the light. πŸ™‚

    • granbee
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 23:01:23

      I KNEW I could count on a fellow Southern chick to know about getting the distracting, dimming trash outta our way–and GET ON into that bright light! Bless you, Tots!

  3. eof737
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 17:50:11

    I believe the light is already there… Amen! πŸ™‚

    • granbee
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 23:02:10

      You are SO very correct, eof737–the light is certainly already there: we just must find the right path on which to direct our steps to STAY in that light!

  4. journeyintopoetry
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 18:17:59

    Still hopping, skipping and popping!

    I love your line “So did all folksies hold each to the other…”, that’s so reassuring. None of us are alone on the quest for the light! πŸ™‚

    Much Love

    Christine xx

  5. becca givens
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 23:40:47

    NO MATTER how much junk there is … HE can ALWAYS see us … and we just need to look up – past the clutter to see HIM! Such wonderful characters …

    β€œOh, here, just here is clear path past all junk, past all dimming, to lead us to Bright!”

    • granbee
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 23:59:31

      Becca, I TOTALLY agree! But I wanted to emphasize the venue in which Jesus was speaking about “knowing me and my Father”–in the Temple treasury! You see, I am more convinced each day of how billions of us are at least temporarily blinded and distracted by all the “filthy lucre”, you know? Of COURSE the Father always see us–but do we always remember to look UP and see Him?

      • becca givens
        Mar 23, 2012 @ 01:27:36

        Amen — I totally agreeing with you .,, (guess I left out the original Amen!! LOL) πŸ˜€

        You covered it brilliantly and a timely reminder of one of the most important aspect for us to remember!!!

        • granbee
          Mar 23, 2012 @ 02:30:34

          Becca, I cannot begin to tell you how very grateful I am for your supportive response here! What WOULD I do without you? Don’t want to find out!

          • becca givens
            Mar 23, 2012 @ 06:54:38

            πŸ˜€

            (BTW — I am trying to finish getting “my ducks in a row” … I wanted to let you know I will be tardy in reading after tomorrow and over the next week … I am leaving on Saturday and will be out of pocket and technology until the 1st of April … I will catch up on reading upon my return. I have my journey entries scheduled to post on a daily basis)

            • granbee
              Mar 23, 2012 @ 23:19:32

              So organized you are, Sister Becca! I need to figure out how to pre-schedule my postings sometimes! Have a MOST marvelous week and trip! Blessings on you and all you encounter!

  6. Christy Birmingham
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 00:50:49

    OUt with the tarnished metal and in with the light. Thanks granbee for the motivation today.

    • granbee
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 00:58:36

      Wow–what an incredible honor to think that I motivated YOU, the queen of focus and purpose, ChristyB. Thank you most humbly!

  7. Sue Dreamwalker
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 03:15:58

    Hi Granbee my dear friend.. I read this on my mobile this morning at a space in my day at work.. I smiled, as I read its words as it has so many connotations with what is happening this present day… We think many things are shinning and bright,. But find underneath they are tarnished by the rust of thoughts which hold the shadows of judgements that Presume to know better.. And yet they do not see the Light at all…
    Many seek the light in Things! As they search for the outward riches of Gold …. They will soon see as you said β€œβ€ this metally petally store could ruinsies the Light!”” and it has for many a Folksie. But I also know the β€˜Light’ is always burning bright, right where is should be.. And it shines in many a heart … We just need to all add our hearts together and Make the World Glow.. .. Keep shining your light as your definitely Glowing Granbee..
    ~Sue

    • granbee
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 06:57:32

      Melding and melting all of our hearts together is the answer to making a light that will shine so brightly, and hotly, that it will just burn away all that tarnish and rust! Always learn so much from your commentaries, dear Sue! Bless you loving and light-filled heart and soul. Glow and twinkle and dazzle for us!

  8. tornadoday
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 10:06:14

    We are one in the light that is love, that is God. Thank you for sharing this beautiful creation.

    • granbee
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 22:34:12

      Yes, yes, YES!–We are ONE in the light, as long as we chose to STAY in the light–this is critical and so very promising, as we see these “critters” learning! Bless you for calling my “creations” beautiful. I love your posts, as well. So glad to find you!

      • tornadoday
        Mar 23, 2012 @ 23:19:38

        I am a firm believer that we need only obey the one command to solve all the world’s problems – the command to simply LOVE. When we do that, we are truly light at its brightest! Thank you too…

        • granbee
          Mar 23, 2012 @ 23:21:04

          Yes, I am always telling my church friends here that it is our job to LOVE and God’s job to JUDGE! Wonderful of you to emphasize this commandment to just LOVE! Bless you!

  9. cottonbombs
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 12:05:50

    Light. Is the the constant theme, isn’t it, Rose? Because, isn’t that what we’re all searching for enLIGHTenment? I love how you shine yours. You can find it in tarnished metal, you can find it at the bottom of an ashtray, but first you got to clear all the butts aside. Light wants to be found. Just ask the sun. Even the moon, has nothing else to do but reflect light.

    • granbee
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 22:35:52

      Here, here; Master Peter! You are SO very right that we all seek enLIGHTenment, even those of us too proud or silly to acknowledge this yearning to ourselves! See. that is why I use “critters”, who have no such burdens. Wonderful examples to us all of how to quickly clear out the tarnish and the butts out of the ashtrays of our lives! Lead on, Sir Peter!

  10. writinggomer
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 12:23:31

    Lead us to bright indeed. Thank you bright one…

    • granbee
      Mar 26, 2012 @ 22:41:01

      Greg, I want to THANK YOU whole-heartedly for being such a great supporter: calling me “bright one”! WOW-eee! You have lead me to a lot of light, you know!

  11. cloakedmonk
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 13:18:02

    Sorry, I got behind on my reading, but I’m catching up tonight!

    This reminded me of a hike I took yesterday across the lava beds (!) of Maui. Crossing across the rocks seeking the end, which is the most southern point and has the remnants of a WWII Lighthouse was treacherous. Those rocks are crazy to walk on. But when you get to the end, a wondrous sight in all directions. Surrounded by God’s work on all sides with aquas, teals, blues, beauty, as far as the eye can see. It was heaven. And the treacherous path worth it.

  12. lscotthoughts
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 03:18:05

    Yes, let us rid of the “junk” in our lives and minds, so that we may focus on the Light more clearly. Wonderful inspiration, Rose! xo

    • granbee
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 03:22:59

      Bless, dear sweet Sister Lauren for so strongly affirming the message in this particular post–one that carries a message I am super ardent about right now! So glad to have you back here with your very loving and spiritual insights.

  13. bardessdmdenton
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 02:46:46

    ‘β€œEven if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid because I know where I have come from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going.”

    Such a powerful statement that no man can be the judge of another!

    • granbee
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 02:49:14

      Yes, a VERY powerful statement–and a lesson we all need so very much today! Thank you for your affirmation here, Diane!

Recent Tweets

