Dear sisters and brothers:

Please give your attention to this video post from creatingreciprocity’s wordpress blog. This is a very moving story of a blind Afrikaaner (by ethnicity) boy meeting with Nelson Mandela and going on to be only one of three blind students to complete studies in computer science in South Africa! As Dirk says, Mr. Mandela held himself neither above nor below anyone else. This is my prayer for how all people will grow into traveling through this journey here on earth.

creatingreciprocity

Dirk Willem Venter –
Even though this photograph was taken almost fifteen years ago, the day I met Mr. Mandela still stands out in my memory. I heard many stories of how lucky we were to have a great man such as him as our president and although I was very small, I felt a deep awe at being lucky enough to meet him face to face. As time passed and his distinctive voice filled my ears my understanding about what a blessing he was for our country grew.
He visited Worcester for the official launch of the Blue Train. I was selected from a group of students from my school to hand him a gift. I remember being nervous and a little apprehensive as I didn’t know what to expect when meeting such a great man. He did not talk down to me as grown up to kid, but…

View original post 66 more words

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tornadoday
    May 11, 2012 @ 05:52:38

    Amen. The greatest of men see themselves no different than another, than a butterfly or a sparrow ~ connected to all, superior to none. Beautiful video, Granbee. Thank you for sharing this remarkable story. ~ Love, B

    • granbee
      May 11, 2012 @ 06:06:00

      Tornadoday, I am working very hard to get all caught up with your own wonderful posts by no later than noon tomorrow, okay? Have been working with my illustrator, giving some classes, and leading some worship services, as well as practicing extra piano music and being all the other roles in my full life. But I am beginning to a see a lot of new light and breath a lot of fresh air right now. Yes, I just loved the lessons in humility and dignity and fulfilled promises in this post.

      • tornadoday
        May 11, 2012 @ 10:33:06

        Granbee, please take all the time you need. I understand and I would NEVER want anyone to take even a moment away from living to read something I wrote. Between work and volunteer work, I don’t have much time to breathe……so I truly understand. Just make sure to make time to love! That’s all I’d ask of anyone. Love you, B

  2. eof737
    May 11, 2012 @ 15:37:41

    Great one… 😉

    • granbee
      May 11, 2012 @ 22:59:22

      This is wonderful, isn’t it? I get uplifted all over again whenever I come back here to reply to a wonderful follower’s comment!

  3. reneeboomer
    May 11, 2012 @ 22:19:14

    I commented on the other blog. oops. I am still learning, silly me. Thank you for sharing this beautiful video. Very touching my friend. 🙂

  4. taimurwali
    May 12, 2012 @ 18:15:23

    this make me sad and on the same time give more confidenceee , heart toucing !

    • granbee
      May 12, 2012 @ 22:53:46

      Yes, taimur, this boy being blind is sad, but the wondrous opportunities he enjoyed under Mandela’s leadership is truly inspiring and touches my heart, as well. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback here!

  5. Sue Dreamwalker
    May 13, 2012 @ 00:16:57

    Amen to that Granbee, neither above nor below.. All equal.. All One.. xx

  6. Jennifer Vidal, an unedited writer
    May 16, 2012 @ 21:56:33

    So big is a man who is humble even though he is no ordinary man; that’s Nelson Mandela. Dirk’s story is inspiring!

    • granbee
      May 17, 2012 @ 03:27:41

      A true giant of a man is Mandela, Jennifer! Thanks so much for your encouragement of the posting of this story here!

  7. bardessdmdenton
    May 18, 2012 @ 02:47:21

    What an excellent share, Rose, and Mandela’s philosophy is certainly what the world needs more of. Equality must come from our spirits and hearts as well as our laws! Thank you!

    • granbee
      May 18, 2012 @ 03:45:05

      So pleased you enjoyed this shared post on Mandela and Dirk! In the sight of our Creator, we are all equal in the eternal parts of ourselves.

Recent Tweets

Granbee on Facebook

Rose Byrd

